Majors, Maple Leafs Announce Finals Playoff Schedule

LONDON -- London and Toronto will once again meet for the Intercounty Baseball League’s Dominico Cup. 

The Majors won in 2021, defeating the Maple Leafs in a deciding fifth game to capture their first championship since 1975 and seventh overall as the Majors. 

London earned the 2022 pennant after defeating Guelph in a one-game tiebreaker to finish the regular season 32-11. London has won six of seven playoff games, sweeping Brantford before eliminating Hamilton in four. 

Majors’ infielder Jakob Newton leads the league in playoff batting average (.600), runs (14), hits (21) and doubles (four). His 11 RBI ranks third, and Newton is fifth with four stolen bases. 

Toronto enters the final as the fourth seed. The Leafs (24-18) finished 7.5 games back of London but advanced to the Dominico Cup championship after sweeping Barrie and knocking out Welland in four games. 

Marcus Knecht has been Toronto’s best hitter in the playoffs, slashing .588/.588/1.118/1.706 with a league-leading five home runs and 15 RBI. 

The Leafs are looking for their ninth championship and first since 2007.

The complete schedule is as follows:

Game 1: Tuesday, September 13 @ London; 7:35 pm

Game 2: Thursday, September 15 @ Toronto; 7:30 pm

Game 3: Friday, September 16 @ London; 7:35 pm

Game 4: Sunday, September 18 @ Toronto; 7:30 pm

Game 5: Tuesday, September 20 @ London; 7:35 pm

Game 6: Thursday, September 22 @ Toronto; 7:30 pm

Game 7: Friday, September 23 @ London; 7:35 pm

*If Necessary

The IBL can be followed on social media platforms ("ibl1919"), including

About the Intercounty Baseball League (IBL)

The Intercounty Baseball League (IBL) is the top-level baseball league in Canada, boasting ex-major league professional and elite NCAA college baseball players. The 2021 season will mark the IBL’s 102nd in operation. The IBL is one of the longest
continuously operated baseball leagues in the world and serves as a valuable training ground for coaches, umpires, and front office staff. More than 40 IBL players have advanced to Major League Baseball or returned to the IBL following their MLB careers. The league is comprised of teams from Barrie, Brantford, Kitchener, London, Toronto, Guelph, Welland, and Hamilton. For more information, visit