IBL Broadcasters Select thier picks for 2022 All-Star Teams

The Intercounty Baseball League, in conjunction with the IBL Broadcasters today unveiled the broadcaster's selections for the 2022 IBL All-Star Teams ahead of the official league unveiling on Friday, September 16th on TheIBL.ca

All eight cities participated in the vote among broadcasters to who they felt deserved these honours.  Teams could not vote for players or managers from their team, first team votes were worth 10 points and second team was worth 5.

1st Team

First Base   Jordan Castaldo - Toronto

Second Base  Jakob Newton - London*

Shortstop  James Smibert - Welland

Third Base   Malik Collymore & Johnathan Solazzo - TIED

Outfield    Justin Gideon - Hamilton/Welland *

Outfield    Dalton Pompey - Guelph

Outfield Starling Joseph - London

Catcher  Robert Mullen - London *

Right-Handed Pitcher - Claudio Custodio Guelph*

Left-Handed Pitcher - Zach Sloan  Toronto

Designated Hitter - Cleveland Brownlee London *

Manager  - Brian Essery - Welland


2nd Team

First Base   Liam Wilson - Kitchener

Second Base  Owen Jansen - Barrie

Shortstop  Keith Kandel - London

Outfield    Andy Leader - Kitchener

Outfield    Blake Jacklin - Kitchener

Outfield  Noel McGarry - Doyle  Barrie & Gio Morello Welland  TIED

Catcher  Justin Marra - Toronto

Right-Handed Pitcher - Jose Arias - London

Left-Handed Pitcher - Chris Boatto - Welland

Designated Hitter - Matt Hilderbrandt - Welland

Manager  - Dino Roumel - Guelph


About the Intercounty Baseball League (IBL)

The Intercounty Baseball League (IBL) is the top-level baseball league in Canada, boasting ex-major league professional and elite NCAA college baseball players. The 2021 season will mark the IBL’s 102nd in operation. The IBL is one of the longest
continuously operated baseball leagues in the world and serves as a valuable training ground for coaches, umpires, and front office staff. More than 40 IBL players have advanced to Major League Baseball or returned to the IBL following their MLB careers. The league is comprised of teams from Barrie, Brantford, Kitchener, London, Toronto, Guelph, Welland, and Hamilton. For more information, visit www.theibl.ca.