IBL Announces Championship Schedule

CAMBRIDGE – The Barrie Baycats and Kitchener Panthers open the Intercounty Baseball League's Dominico Cup final Tuesday night at Coates Stadium.

Barrie is looking to win its seventh championship and become the first team to win six straight titles since Brantford from 2008-2013. The first-place Baycats have yet to lose in the playoffs, sweeping Brantford in the quarter-final and Welland in the semifinal. 

Second-place Kitchener is 8-1 in the postseason after eliminating Toronto in a five-game quarter-final and sweeping Hamilton in the semis. The Panthers have won 13 championships in their history but are looking for their first since 2001, which capped a stretch of four in six seasons. 

Barrie went 4-2 against Kitchener in 2019, including taking all three games at Jack Couch Park. The Panthers won twice at Coates Stadium. This is the third straight meeting between the teams in the final.

Best-of-seven final
Game 1: Tuesday, Aug. 27 at Barrie 7:30 p.m.
Game 2: Thursday, Aug. 29 at Kitchener 7:30 p.m.
Game 3: Saturday, Aug. 31 at Barrie 7 p.m.
Game 4: Sunday, Sept. 1 at Kitchener 7 p.m.
*Game 5: Tuesday, Sept. 3 at Barrie 7:30 p.m.
*Game 6: Thursday, Sept. 5 at Kitchener 7:30 p.m.
*Game 7: Saturday, Sept. 7 at Barrie 7 p.m.