IBL Announces 2021 Postseason Format

Mississauga, ON - As the 2021 Intercounty Baseball League regular season reaches the final two weeks of play, the League has announced the finalization of the playoff format by Commissioner John Kastner. As determined prior to the season beginning, all seven clubs will qualify for the 2021 postseason. The postseason will begin the week following the regular season.

The regular-season champion will receive a first-round bye. The number two seed will take on the number seven seed, followed by the number three seed versus the number six seed and the fourth seed matching up with the fifth.

The first round will consist of a best-of-three series with the top seed taking home-field advantage.

The Semi-Finals will consist of a best-of-three series to move on to the Dominico Cup Finals with the top seed taking on the lowest seed.

The Dominico Cup Finals will be a best-of-five series to crown a 2021 Champion.

The Intercounty Baseball League (IBL) is the top-level baseball league in Canada, boasting ex-major league professional and elite NCAA college baseball players. The 2021 season will mark the IBL’s 102nd in operation. The IBL is one of the longest
continuously operated baseball leagues in the world and serves as a valuable training ground for coaches, umpires, and front office staff. More than 40 IBL players have advanced to Major League Baseball or returned to the IBL following their MLB careers. The league is comprised of teams from Barrie, Brantford, Kitchener, London, Toronto, Guelph, Welland, and Hamilton. For more information, visit www.theibl.ca.